The Blog is Hot

Four great technological advances

Posted in Jolla, kde, opensuse, software_freedom by mschlander on 15/08/2014

#1: openSUSE Factory Rolling Release Distribution

Over the course of the last several months a lot of changes were made to the development process for openSUSE Factory. Meaning it’s no longer a highly experimental testing dump, but it’s now a viable rolling release distribution in its own right. You can read all about the details here. I installed openSUSE Factory in a virtual machine yesterday and it seems to run pretty great. Of course to really judge a rolling release distribution you need to run it for a sustained period of time.

No rolling release distribution will ever be my preferred day-to-day operating system, but nevertheless I’m pretty excited about the “new” openSUSE Factory. I think the changes will enable version whores and bleeding edge explorers to finally have a truly symbiotic relationship with the users who value productivity and predictability in their PC operating system.

installer2

#2: KDE Frameworks 5 and Plasma 5

Since I was already testing openSUSE Factory it was a great opportunity to finally get my feet wet with the new KDE Frameworks 5 and Qt5 based KDE Plasma 5 workspace, initially released about a month ago. Obviously it’s still lacking some features and polish, but it’s already usable for forgiving users who know what they’re doing and showing great promise.

plasma52

#3: 4G on the Jolla

My provider enabled 4G on my subscription and offered to send me a new SIM Card gratis. So now my Jolla is sporting 4G. Unfortunately it only took about 5-10 minutes of speed testing (peaking at 12 MB/s, averaging about 10 MB/s) to use all my available bandwidth for the month, so for the rest of August I’ve been speed dropped to 64 Kbps, but hey, it’s still 4G!

20140807112741

#4: Richard Stallman presenting with a slideshow

Who’d have ever thought they’d see the day that Stallman would do a presentation with accompanying slides? Well it happened, and I think this great use of slides helps him communicate more effectively. Watch the video and judge for yourselves (27 MB, 13 minutes).

shot0001

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on 15/08/2014 at 11:22

    Just curious what was the process you went through to get Plasma5 (plasma-next) running on your system? I know its no longer compatible with running v4 Plasma…

    • mschlander said, on 15/08/2014 at 12:01

      Installing Plasma5 on an openSUSE Factory KDE 4 installation is quite easy.

      1) Install ‘lightdm’ and set ‘lightdm’ as the default display manager in /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager

      2) Install the package ‘plasma5-session’ (this will pull in additional ~150 packages, and remove the KDE 4 Plasma workspace, it’s probably best not to do it from within a running KDE 4 session).

      3) Reboot and select to log in to a Plasma 5 session from lightdm.

      • Michael said, on 15/08/2014 at 12:37

        Thanks! I am going to give this a shot.

  2. […] * Four great technological advances […]

  3. Michael said, on 18/08/2014 at 14:46

    mschlander -
    Thanks that worked, the only issue I’ve found is that from the control center I cannot configure my monitors as it says the shared library wasn’t found. I’ve googled and not found anything on it, tried to see if I was missing some obvious pieces in Yast, but not that I can see. Any suggestions?

  4. Michael said, on 19/08/2014 at 18:40

    in case anyone else has this issue and runs across this post. I was able to solve my issue. What is needed is kscreen5, for some reason the old version of kscreen was installed and not the latest, I updated to the kscreen5 I was able to find and that resolved my display configuration issues.

  5. Tomm said, on 23/09/2014 at 11:39

    Nice gecko ambiance! do you have a link?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

