The Blog is Hot

Oxygen for YaST2

Posted in opensuse by mschlander on 04/02/2008

openSUSE 10.3 uses Tango icons by default in the YaST2 setup tool. A poorly maintained Crystal theme is also available. Neither solution is really acceptable for me, especially not since migration to KDE4.x.x is slowly starting. So I’ve done something that I’ve been contemplating for a while – that is making a selection of Oxygen icons as a replacement for the Tango icons. It’s called yast2-theme-openSUSE-oxygen.

yast-oxygen

It’s still pretty rough, in true KDE 4.0 fashion I released it real early. If it turns out that other people are interested, I’ll probably polish it, and enhance it as more Oxygen icons become available, and perhaps also package it as an RPM.

Big thumbs up to the Oxygen artists, I’ve spent some hours staring at their icons in the last couple of days and I’m still very impressed.

UPDATE: As expected it turns out that I hadn’t considered quite a few things in the initial release. Here’s an Oxygen-theme for SaX2 that someone made to fill at least one of the gaps.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ra100 said, on 06/02/2008 at 10:56

    great.thanks for it 🙂

  2. froksen said, on 11/02/2008 at 9:31

    Looks very nice cb400f, I´ll for sure try it out.. 🙂

  3. […] for YaST2 II Filed under: opensuse — mschlander @ 4:38 pm Two weeks ago I announced that I had selected a bunch of Oxygen icons to replace the Tango icons used in YaST2 by default, […]


Leave a Reply

