The Blog is Hot

opensuse-guide.org

Posted in opensuse by mschlander on 19/11/2009

No time for chitchat? Click here!

Using openSUSE is incredibly easy, when you know how – but figuring everything out by yourself with no prior knowledge of GNU/Linux is no small task. In fact, I’m sure that a very high percentage of the people who try to migrate fail and quit, and often the showstoppers are really very basic issues. Therefore I’ve written and maintained a beginner’s guide to openSUSE in Danish for every release since SUSE Linux 9.3, documenting the basics needed to getting started using openSUSE as a home desktop OS. For openSUSE 11.2 I’ve decided to maintain the guide in English instead. You’ll find it here:

http://opensuse-guide.org (Thanks to the board for granting permission to use a *opensuse* domain name)

Some people may wonder why I don’t just use the wiki. Which is a good question, but:

  • I want to control the direction and vision for my work
  • I’m considering putting ads on it at some point
  • Using the wiki can be limiting technically and possibly even legally
  • The guide is GFDL’ed with no invariant sections, so you can fork it if I get hit by a bus or don’t do a good job.

I’m very interested in feedback of course and will continue to update and incrementally improve the guide.

The “Installing Software” chapter has an embedded screencast using the <video> element – more and better screencasts are planned – only works with Firefox 3.5/Seamonkey 2.0 of course (I’d appreciate it, if someone could tell me whether it works with recent Google Chrome on MS Windows or not, doesn’t seem to want to work with Chromium).

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DenverD said, on 19/11/2009 at 15:23

    cb400f wrote in forums.opensuse.org:
    > ‘opensuse-guide.org’ (http://opensuse-guide.org)
    > https://mschlander.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/opensuse-guide-org/

    hvor er din fx 10.3 sider, og ‘GREAT JOB’ on the English lingo site!!

  2. terrorbyte said, on 19/11/2009 at 16:25

    It’s only KDE, no GNOME…

  3. nsalem said, on 20/11/2009 at 5:46

    Awesome job Martin! This will very helpful to new users. It’s nice to have all the important notes in one place.

  4. Klaus said, on 20/11/2009 at 9:47

    I have to admit that even though I work as a Linux professional for several years I still return to check you guide at each install. I have used your guide as a reference for which libraries to add and rpm’s to fetch to get stuff like multimedia working.

    I have referred several Linux nuubs to to your guide and while I understand that you will reach a bigger audience with an english version – I do think that it will loose some of its charm and appeal to the less educated Danish users.

    But on the other side I think that 10 English speaking users well guided on Linux road – is still better than 1 Danish.

    • Toms said, on 23/11/2009 at 15:44

      > I do think that it will loose some of its charm and appeal to the less educated Danish users.

      This is always the case when writing in a foreign language. Maybe some native speaker can proofread the text.

  5. Robin said, on 20/11/2009 at 11:04

    nice guide 🙂

    found a typo (well.. not translated?) headline in “4. Installation”:
    “Ur og tidszone”

    • cb400f said, on 20/11/2009 at 12:35

      Fixed. Thanks 🙂

  6. Rishabh Rao said, on 20/11/2009 at 21:06

    Hi Martin,

    I recently downloaded and installed openSUSE 11.2! This is such an excellent OS! The best one, I’ve ever seen! I’ve worked in Knoppix 5.1, Fedora 8 etc. This is the best!

    I read your guide completely (from start to finish) just now! Excellent one! It’ll help new Linux users like me! Linux rocks! Thank you!

    openSUSE lacks help in the “What’s this?” aspect. You know, the [?] button in the top-right corner of many windows. I would like to contribute to it. Can you please help me out?

    Thanks and regards,
    Rishabh

  7. Agemen said, on 21/11/2009 at 15:16

    Thanks for this job 🙂

  8. Toms said, on 23/11/2009 at 15:33

    Very nice! 🙂

    About section “4.2 DVD Installation”: I would suggest to distinguish the text more between informative and instructive. It seems to me, this is sometimes a mixture.

    For example:
    »Then you’re presented with a menu that lets you begin installation and select other things such as your language.«

    What is the action? 🙂 Ok, after reading it carefully it is clear. However, I think we can support our reader by using a verb and separate the description (“…presented with a menu…”) from the action (“select other thing…”).

    As an idea, I would suggest the following style:

    * You see: Add here your descriptive text.
    * What to do: Add here the instruction(s) what the user has to do.

    When you describe an instruction, try to start with a verb:
    »Press [F2] and select your preferred language for installation. Generally, you do not need to change anything else and can start the installation with the item “Installation”.«

    If the user has to perform several actions, separate them into steps.

    I hope it is clear. 🙂

    • cb400f said, on 06/12/2009 at 14:47

      I’ve tried to do as suggested. Thanks.

  9. […] Posted in opensuse by mschlander on 19/04/2010 Today it was five months ago that I announced the availability of opensuse-guide.org, and soon I’ll begin updating it for openSUSE 11.3, so […]


Leave a Reply

