The Blog is Hot

openSUSE 11.3 is out

Posted in opensuse by mschlander on 15/07/2010

openSUSE 11.3

There’s a pretty good description of the product highlights here and some screenshots here, so there’s no reason for me to go further into that. However I’d like to add one thing that I consider a rather unique feature of openSUSE KDE installations these days, that is PulseAudio being non-default and completely optional 😉

When I blog about new openSUSE releases I always try to point out some of the weak spots. For 11.3 expect the following things to cause the most grief:

  • Kernel modesetting (KMS) is now used by default, nouveau is the new default Nvidia driver instead of nv, the intel driver is being redesigned. KMS also means manual installation of proprietary drivers will be a bit more difficult. Expect graphics to behave in new and unexpected ways.
  • KAddressBook in KDE SC 4.4 has been ported to use Akonadi and has some regressions.
  • SaX2 has been dropped completely now – instead use xrandr, krandrtray, nvidia-settings and so forth depending on your graphics card/driver. But auto-detection should “just work” most of the time anyway

openSUSE-Guide.org

openSUSE-Guide.org has been updated for 11.3 already. Not much is changed, but I did add a section about creating Live USB sticks (Installation chapter) and a few lines about the KDE Plasma Netbook shell (KDE chapter) and a few other things. The screencasts will be updated soon.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds good – I have played around with one of the early milestones on a VM, but I will download it and give it a try.
    In an interesting turn of events, one of the Windows machines in my lawfirm office fried the harddrive, so I took it and am now working off a live CD – most of my work is remote desktop anyway – and Opensuse would be quite fitting for that.

  2. Guillaume said, on 16/07/2010 at 14:11

    “Expect graphics to behave in new and unexpected ways.”

    To say the least…

    After upgrade from 11.2 (no clean install), no X. At all…
    After clean install (wiping out /), major hassle to install fglrx. Using working xorg.conf (with fglrx) from 11.2, X started fine, except … no keyboard and no mouse. Bah, it only took me one full day to get it working…

  3. Anonymous said, on 17/07/2010 at 16:18

    […] […]

  4. Sparky said, on 19/08/2010 at 5:54

    I have to agree with Guillaume. I spent a full day of trying to get my Dell D830 to work. I had 11.2 and when upgrading Mesa and Xorg to latest, I had no X. I tried everything left and right to get it to work; ie. install via yast the old xorg and mesa, running sax2, but could not get it to work. I then upgraded my distro to 11.3. Still no go. But after deleting xorg.conf, I’ve got a working system. ‘unexpected ways’ fi true.

  5. atolstoy said, on 09/11/2010 at 9:38

    I’ve done an unboxing photo set for 11.3
    http://atolstoy.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/opensuse-11-3-unboxing/

    By the way, KMS is disabled after propritery driver is installed, so there’s no problem with it.


Leave a Reply

