The Blog is Hot

openSUSE 11.4 has been released

Posted in opensuse by mschlander on 12/03/2011

In case you hadn’t heard, openSUSE 11.4 was released this Thursday, and as usual opensuse-guide.org was updated at the same time.

I think overall it’s a very good release, besides being the first major distribution to ship KDE SC 4.6, LibreOffice Linux 2.6.37 with free Broadcom wlan drivers (for some recent chips) and other goodies.

You can read the announcement here or read the Product highlights for a more extensive presentation of the new stuff.

As customary I like to also prepare people for the most likely causes of problems:

  • PulseAudio is now installed and enabled in KDE installations by default. If it’s causing sound problems, you can disable it in YaST -> Sound -> Other -> PulseAudio Configuration (or run ‘setup-pulseaudio –disable’) or even uninstall it – KDE doesn’t have hard dependencies on it.
  • GStreamer is the new default Phonon backend – enough said. You may want to use phonon-backend-xine or phonon-backend-vlc (from Packman) instead, if Amarok or other Phonon applications misbehave.
  • The great new KDE Bluetooth tool – BlueDevil – has a missing dependency on obexd-client, which means you’ll need to install obexd-client yourself in order for sending files via Bluetooth to work.
  • The NetworkManager plasmoid is not perfect. An online update should be along soon improving it significantly. If it’s causing problems you can easily install and use nm-applet (NetworkManager-gnome) instead – with the new oxygen-gtk theme it doesn’t even look bad 😉

That’s it for me. Have a lot of fun with 11.4.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin said, on 12/03/2011 at 20:20

    Yeah. I just wasted a good five hours trying to get Pulseaudio to work. At best it would play sound through just one speaker, at worst not at all. Then I fully uninstalled it. Much better now!

    I would have thought that pulseaudio should have matured by now, having read about how many Ubuntu users struggled with it for the past years. But I guess not.

    I still love 11.4: btrfs works much better with the new kernel.

  2. Craig said, on 29/03/2011 at 13:59

    I installed 11.4 and I can’t print. What good is that. I’ve tried everything to get my printer to work. I have an HP Officejet and I installed the latest driver all the posts on the web recommend.

  3. Andrew Weber said, on 24/06/2011 at 2:02

    Thanks for the disabling Pulseaudio tip. Def having fun with 11.4.


Leave a comment