The Blog is Hot

Create two, three, many openSUSE Guides

Posted in opensuse by mschlander on 30/07/2016

I’m often approached by people who wish to translate opensuse-guide.org to their respective languages, which is awesome, but managing translations would be too much work for me. So instead I encourage people to create a derivative work of the guide in their own language – it’s licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License with no invariant sections.

Recently derivatives have been created for Arabic and Spanish by Sadig Osman and victorhck respectively.

Moved to GitHub

I have now made it a whole lot easier for people to fork opensuse-guide.org by putting the guide on github. This also makes it much easier for maintainers of derivative works to keep track of the on-going changes and updates I make to the guide.

The HTML isn’t particularly pretty, and I probably still have some Danish language comments here and there. But please go ahead and fork me.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. victorhck said, on 30/07/2016 at 20:36

    I gave my 2cnts 🙂
    I added a link to your original guide in the index page…
    Thanks for your work!

    ‘ve phun!

  2. […] Create two, three, many openSUSE Guides […]

  3. Martin said, on 31/07/2016 at 18:02

    Loved this guide! Actually I think this guide should be included in the official openSUSE wiki and documetation pages

  4. weight loss said, on 29/11/2016 at 5:11

    This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
    Many thanks!

  5. victorhck said, on 01/08/2020 at 18:05

    updated to Leap 15.2
    Thanks for your work!!


Leave a comment